Gestational Diabetes

GD.

For the longest time in my pregnancy I was fighting this diabetes. Eating healthy is the way to go and exercising while pregnant is how I manage to keep my sugar level at bay. Every after meal I religiously test myself. Sometimes when I eat something sweet I would really really really feel guilty and would just drink water to try to make the sugar level balance.

It got to a point that even if I am not eating something with sugar that my level is still high that my OB resorted me taking, injecting insulin. No matter how thin and small that needle is its still hurt to have to inject myself every night.

Somehow I am so relieved that i gave birth a month early. This will save my son from being affected by the diabetes.

The effect of this GD is not limited to me. Because I have this my son has a chance of getting diabetes. The good part is that we can already make him eat healthy this early to prevent this from affecting him.

My one way of preventing him from having sugar is me breastfeeding him. Which is what I did till I can. I have been breastfeeding him till he is 2.

We have a no-sweets/chocolate rule in the house too. None of us drinks cola or squash. All water and milk.Eventually I gave in to juice because I found out that my son poo better when he drinks this. But I dilute it with water.

Somewhere between him being 2 and how he is going to be 4 I let it go. He is now eating crisp, chocolates and a lot of sweets. And the cavity in his teeth is the proof of this. The cavity will be sorted out tomorrow as we have a dentist schedule. Hopefully the dentist will be keen on checking him as the last one gave up when my son wont open his mouth. No effort to lure him to open his mouth at all. He just gave up. I would of course request a new dentist.

And I have to go back into being a strict mother when it comes to food. My husband being a grazer is not helping with this. He eat snacks like cray in between meals and my son (& me) is starting to be one too. There is just to much junk in our pantry. I am not blaming him for this of course. I am taking full responsibility. When my son turned 3 he became a fuzzy eater. He would not eat at all and this kills me as a mother of course. Where is he getting the sustenance so I would give him sweets and crisp to give his body wee bit nutrients. Not healthy but food nonetheless.

This fuzzy eating also made me spoon feed him. Till now that he is nearing 4. One of the skeleton in my mothering closet.

This is not all about him too. I have gained 5K since I stopped breastfeeding him. Pants that I can use before is donated to the charity shops and I am now wearing buggy jeans just so I can hide my massive legs that broke every old jeans that I have. I of course can really diet if I want too. I remember testing this product and I lost some weight. But it is pricey so I cant maintain such diet. After testing the product I went back to my old weight. Probably heavier.

My choice of poison are those M&Ms and oreos that are usually on sale at supermarket. But what really kills me is Nutella. I can eat those big jars in one sitting. If can build something out of the jars of Nutella that I consumed I can probably already build a mansion.

Its like I have an amnesia! That I forgotten about my Gestational Diabetes! What ever happened to my brain?????? But I am depressed too and I am missing home and I am alone in mothering.

I will try to forgive myself for that. What can I ever do but to forgive myself. Because how can I start with what I want to do if I will stay blaming myself.

Why did I remember? I read this blog.

Then it hit me that I have this and I should be doing something about it! So starting today I am cleaning up my act. I am starting with me and then I would need to be an example to my son so that he would follow and eat healhty too. I would of course ask my husband to eat healthy as well. I would probbaly get him to snack on fruits and veggies instead.

This is so hard. Just 2 hours ago while we were out I saw so many sweet stuff on sale at the high street. So cheap!

But I am happy to say that I was able to not buy & eat them. I also am clean today from any sweets and we ate eggs and I just ate white.

I am going to take this by the day. Day starting now.

xx

Ethans Escapades

All About You Link & Pin Party
Binky Linky

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

17 thoughts on “Gestational Diabetes

  1. Anonymous

    You can do this!

    You’re right, you need to forgive yourself and start new today! 🙂 I think you can do this. Let us know how you progress!

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    I remember having the test for gestational diabates and really hated it but sweets are my big weakness. Especially fizzy ones! 🙂

    Notmyyearoff xx

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    Good luck

    I’m sure it will be very tough at times, but you will do it! Good luck, be strong & just think about the amazing example you’re setting for you little one xx

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

    best thing to do

    Thanks the best thing to do is take it one day at a time, cutting this or that out or at least cutting down at first then going cold turkey. I find I dont cheat on my healthiness if I slowly cut it out but it I just drop everything I find its harder and I cheat and eat the sweets. Life’s too short to feel guilty about something that has happened its what you do in the future and with it that counts. thank you for linking up to Share With Me. #sharewithme

    Reply
  5. Anonymous

    I wonder why I never liked chocolates and candies. People hardly believe me. We are so different in that aspect.

    Reply
  6. Anonymous

    Trying to keep him from eating all sweets is going to make him want it more. My mom used to make homemade chocolate chip cookies with half the sugar of what the recipe called for. Because we all grew up eating these, we thought these were good and prefer things with less sugar.

    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  7. Anonymous

    We had gone overboard with sweets in our house too, but one thing I’ve done is give up sweets myself (mostly), and keep nothing in the house. Offer him fruits or home made ice cream for sweet cravings. You will have to do this as a family. I’ve gained a lot of weight too since I stopped breastfeeding! #sharewithme

    Reply
  8. Anonymous

    My friend has this test and it’s truly awful. Take one day at a time. Good luck. Thanks for linking up to the #binkylinky

    Reply
  9. Anonymous

    Congratulations on long term bfing 🙂 although I didn’t have GD when pregnant I put on a lot of weight when my son stopped bfing at 19 months I started the 5:2 plan in January and have lost over a stone since January! Good luck you can do it!

    Reply
  10. Anonymous

    GD

    Congratulations on your journey thus far. I can totally understand you predicament when it comes to controlling the junk in the pantry. I normally limit the biscuits junk that I eat but my boyfriend is another story. No matter how much I try. Biscuits, nuts and all sorts seem to sneak in when I am not looking.

    Reply
  11. Anonymous

    My Little L

    I didnt realise how serious GD is and that it can affect your child, thanks for sharing

    Reply
  12. Anonymous

    Good luck!! It’s hard not to give in to the temptations of cheap junk food. I send you cyber will power!! #binkylinky

    Reply
  13. Anonymous

    Don’t be too hard on yourself! It sounds like you’re in the right frame of mind to make some changes now though, so good luck!

    Steph (from Pretty Unexpected and #binkylinky)

    Reply
  14. Anonymous

    Sorry to hear this and really hope things get easier. Really sorry to read you feel depressed too, can you get support from your GP. I have PCOS so follow a low GI diet that is ideal for diabetes sufferers, never feel hungry and helps balance moods too. Thanks for joining in with #brilliantblogposts

    Reply
  15. Anonymous

    #AllAboutYou

    Yay! Good on you! I am rubbish and need to stop eating sweets too! The dentist said today that is will all catch up on me and I am worried that it will. Don’t be too hard on yourself. It is easy to want to snack all the time. Especially on sweet treats. Good luck! And thanks so much for linking up to #AllAboutYou xxx (brummymummyof2)

    Reply
  16. Anonymous

    Good luck, food is such a battle. Your son sounds the same as mine, he loves chocolate and I’m scared at what we are doing to his teeth as we also have a brushing teeth battle. I wish you lots of luck, keep us posted of the progress.

    Thanks for linking up with Small Steps Amazing Achievements :0)
    x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

