Second Chance

We went camping again and this time I have my contact lens solution and blankets!
We were so brave too to go even when the rain is looming.
We reckon its nice to experience camping too even when its not sunny.
We wanted to stay where we used to camp but the area is booked for students.
About 90 the owner said. I love it! I was thinking a music festival and not a common camping.
In my head a stage pops out of that field and some musician playing while the kids arrive one group at a time.
We borrowed the same tent and this time we (husband =P) know how to assemble it better.
And my son is so happy to see his friend Megan from our last camping trip.
I have to confess though that he is stalking her and I think at some point of our trip she got annoyed for having a tail that is my son.
I am so sorry for that. I don't want her night to be bad. I don't know how to stop my son from following her.

The highlight this this camping trip is getting some twigs to sustain fire.
We are trying to save money as last time we spend too much on buying woods.
It is a bit hard to walk on a path with my son but fun nonetheless.
(And since twigs dont last long we have to go back to the forest again. Darker and more slippery as it rained a bit.
And yet we were able to get more!)

When it got dark enough we (the guys mostly) started fire. We ate burgers on baps! Yummy.
And right on cue, the rain started to pour after dinner.
Making my son grumpy as he needs to hide on the tent when he still wants to join the big guys around the camp fire.
As we are more ready even if its raining at night we dont feel that cold.
Just warm and cozy! Interestingly the fire is still going!
As I am inside the tent I dont know what the guys are doing to make it alive for long.
But I know that it is still on as the smoke would go inside the tent. We woke up smelling, feeling like smoked salmon.

The next day I woke up way early so that I can explore the site and take photos.
I just walk around and saw so many things to photograph!

Some more chat and after a game of throwing balls we head to Axbridge Reservoir.

This time around we had more fun as we are more ready and less things are forgotten!
Camping for me is something that the more you do the more you know and the more you get better.

xx

Linking up to:

Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

11 thoughts on “Second Chance

  1. Anonymous

    MyLifeMyLove

    ooh you’ve made me want to forget my fears and grab the tent! Maybe during the school hols we will venture out in it. xx

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Camping is great fun and I think kids love it. You did well to go even with the rain.
    Thanks for linking #LetKidsbeKids

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    LOVE that you went foraging for sticks for your fire! And such beautiful shots in the morning πŸ™‚ …Bummer about the rain!
    #letkidsbekids

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

    Glad you didn’t get too wet, I thought you were going to say the tent leaked! Love your shot of the branch of the tree, Christine @afamilyday. #letkidsbekids

    Reply
  5. Anonymous

    I think you are so right about it being easier the more times you camp. At this rate you will be a seasoned (or smoked) camper by the end of the summer. Nothing surpasses connecting to nature on a camping trip. #CountryKids

    Reply
  6. Anonymous

    I’m impressed you made a fire! We always cheat and have a camping stove. I don’t think we’ve ever actually made a campfire but in our defence it’s usually because we stay on sites where they’re not allowed. I’m so glad you enjoyed it second time around, even with the rain πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Anonymous

    Well done for persevering and going camping again so soon, especially as rain was forecast. Lovely photos of what sounds like a fun and adventurous camping trip. Thanks for linking up and sharing your family fun with Country Kids.

    Reply
  8. Anonymous

    So glad you had a better time this time, it looks lovely and I really would love to go camping some time #countrykids

    Reply
  9. Anonymous

    Oh we love camping but I have to admit to being a bit of a fair weather camper. It’s still too early for me, but come the summer holidays, we’ll be breaking out the tent. Your photos are amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

