My Meatballs Monster

Yesterday was awfully hard for me. I don't know how to make it through the day. I am struggling to move. Being normal, being a mother is challenging. Its a good thing that my son attended a birthday party. He wont see me wallow. I have been very very down lately. Old emotions coming back out where I buried them. We head out when he came back from the party. I remember crying in our car journey with a fellow passenger totally ignoring me. My son is asleep. Good. He will not see me cry. I am always hiding this emotions to him as I always do. I don't want him to worry about me. He is just 4 years old after all.

Or so I thought.

All through the day my 4 year old son is asking if I am happy? He usually ask this when I am sad or looks sad or mad. He would say 'Mummy are you happy with me?' He probably did ask me that more than 10x yesterday. So he feels what I am feeling. I can't hide these sadness to him now or maybe I should try harder to hide it. My son is really maturing, growing up so fast. I am so proud of him being this sensitive like I had said so many times before.

And to balance all the sadness that I felt I am so happy that when we sat to eat dinner in a restaurant, he ate by himself with gusto! The whole meatball! In one go. I have been starting to make him eat by himself and its a bit of a struggle for us. But yesterday he didn't cause any worry and he is just such an angel!

Supposedly a very very sad day saved by an ordinary gesture from my son. Behaving and eating and being sensitive to other people's emotions. I am so thankful that I have him here with me. I am so proud too of what he is growing to be!

xx

mumturnedmom
Ethans Escapades
10 thoughts on “My Meatballs Monster

  1. Anonymous

    hugs and love

    Sometimes life throws us back where we don’t want to be, and I understand how and why you want to hide your emotions from your son! But they are so perceptive…my almost three year old says that too …’mummy are you angry’ and would try to make things right for me! They are little angles, bless him and his little heart. xx

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    It is so hard to keep our emotions from affecting our children, and often it’s impossible, they pick up on so much. It is amazing how they can sense when we need them to behave or to just give us a hug, isn’t it? Thank you so much for linking to #ThePrompt xx

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    I am sorry to hear you have been struggling and I hope things improve for you soon. It’s surprising I think sometimes just how grown up and sensitive little people can be. He sounds like a wonderful boy. x

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

    Aww I’m sorry to hear you have been struggling lately and feeling down 😦 It is so hard to keep your feelings from little ones as they pick up on so much! I am glad he is doing well with eating and hope you have some happier days soon! xx #ordinarymoments

    Reply
  5. Anonymous

    Comment

    I’m really sorry that you’re having such a difficult time and I hope that things get better for you soon. It’s great to watch a child mature and grow and notice all of the tiny steps forward they make every day.

    Reply
  6. Anonymous

    Moving post

    Hope you’re feeling a bit better now. What a wonderful tribute to you your son is. So caring and beautifully behaved. Emotions can be hard to keep wraps on, especailly when we’re feeling vulnerable. Be gentle on yourself, you deserve it x

    Chrissie – muddledmanuscript.co.uk

    Reply
  7. Anonymous

    Honest Mum

    Sorry to read this and your beautiful son is so sweet, kids can help us so much. Thanks for linking up to #brilliantblogposts

    Reply
  8. Anonymous

    Well done your lovely little man

    Well done your little man, both on the meatballs and being sensitive to your emotions. I hope you feel a bit brighter soon.
    Thanks for linking up with #SSAmazingAchievements x
    Jeannette @autismmumma

    Reply
  9. Anonymous

    I’m so sorry you are going through a rough time at the moment. I really hope you feel better soon. Well done to your little superstar for picking up on your emotions. Also for eating all of his dinner #SSAmazingAchievements

    Reply

Leave a Reply

