Siomai (Pork Dumpling)

When I got my hands on a steamer suddenly the possibilities of dishes that I can do is endless! The first dish that I tried using the steamer is this, my fave dimsum which in my country is called SIOMAI. A dish from our Chinese neighbor. Stalls carrying this dish can be seen in every street corner in my country. The sellers have special massive steamer so you always get your siomai warm and ready to eat!

Its also nice that I got a wanton wrapper from this Asian store that we frequently visit.

The recipe that I know needs oyster sauce which I dont have so I replaced that with Worcestershire Sauce. It is okay but if I can find oyster sauce I know it will be life changing for my siomai.

Also I didnt notice that the pork that I used is lean. When I ate (a lot) of the finished dish it is on the dry side and a fatter pork is needed to get a moist siomai.

The ingredients are:

For the dumpling

1clove Garclic crushed and minced
1tsp Ginger peeled and minced
1tbsp Oyster / Worcestershire Sauce
1/2tbsp Soy Sauce
225g Ground Pork
25g Cabbage finely shredded
15-25pcs Wanton Wrapper
Pepper

For the dipping sauce

2tbsp soy saunce
1tsp roasted garlic
1/4tsp Vinegar
1/4tsp Pepper Flakes

Procedure:

Boil water in a pan and attached you steamer on top.

Mix the garlic, ginger, pepper, worcestershire and soy sauce, and pork together in a bowl and mix thoroughly.

Then add the cabbage and mix until equally distributed in your meat.

Prepare a glass of water for to seal you wanton wrapper.

To start with your dumpling, lighty brush the edges of the wanton wrapper with water using a brush.

On the dry side, add enough meat and fold the edge of the siomai.

I did a open top dumpling and a triangles.

Put the dumpling on your steamer making sure that the water is boiling. If the water is not steaming enough, wait till it is. Putting the dumpling in while its not steaming will make the wrapper stick to the bottom.

It is also important for the dumpling not to touch each other in your steamer.

Steam for 10-15 minutes. Serve immediately with dipping sauce.

Serve!

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Leave a Reply

